Heart of the issue?

“I’m pro-life”

“I’m against gay marriage”

“I’m a republican”

“I’m a southern baptist”

Do any of these things sound familiar? There are all phrases I’ve uttered at some point over the past year. While they are all true, I’ve been challenged to begin changing my philosophy! Anyone that knows me knows that I love politics! I can hold my weight in a discussion on why I think Obamacare is bad, why I believe abortion is wrong, the proper role of government, etc.

It’s crucial to be able to know what you believe and why, but I believe something is missing! While Christians must stand up for things such as the sanctity of human life and the sanctity of marriage, if standing up for those “issues” is all we do –

we have failed!

You see, if we as Christians merely run around trying to change the social and political culture of our world, we are missing the call of God! The Lord never called us to  governmental reform! That sounds like a bold statement doesn’t it! And you might initially disagree with me! Allow me to flesh out that thesis and hopefully you’ll see what I mean when I say that I don’t believe that we are “called” to that kind of reform!

What America needs isn’t a different president, a more conservative media, or a new set of laws…

….what America needs is Jesus!

We can make all the laws and changes that we want to, but ultimately that isn’t where the hope for America lies!

Dear one, as Christians, we have the greatest gift imaginable and we should be pointing others to Christ! I’ve fallen into the trap of allowing myself to be defined for the things I stand for and against, instead of being solely definitely by the fact that without Christ I am headed straight for hell, but with Him, all of my sins are forgiven and Christ has lavished me with grace upon grace!

Instead of running around trying to reform government or society, we should be meeting people where they are! If a young girl is pregnant and is considering an abortion, that is the perfect time for us to step into her life, show her Christ’s love and offer her real hope! Until we begin to care about people as more than a project or statistic, our nation will never change! We must realize that people’s hearts are dead without Christ, and they are going to act in a sinful way because it’s their nature

“You are the light of the world. A city set on a hill cannot be hidden. Nor do people light a lamp and put it under a basket, but on a stand, and it gives light to all in the house. In the same way, let your light shine before others, so that they may see your good works and give glory to your Father who is in heaven.” – Matthew 5:14-16

Here is the question I pose to you:

How are you being the light those around you?

Dear Christian, we are called to offer people hope in Christ! We are the light! When people begin to see and savor Christ as the most glorious treasure, social and government reform will happen as a natural result!

f7ee1650c0a42d787540a3abf3c3de1e

5 thoughts on “Heart of the issue?

  1. You’re right. Even though it looks like we’re different politically, this reminds me more of the fact that, in Christ, there’s no Jew nor Gentile, and we all need Him to be the core of our lives—that we should never forget that.

    • Thank you very much! I appreciate that! And I agree, even though Christians might differ politically, ultimately we should keep in focus the fact that all people need Jesus!

      • as i commented in the forum i dont like this solution to the ooevrpowered mants and beetles. this way they migth be a fair challange midgame but boring later. i would rather like to see them spawning on all levels and from the very beginning but scale with time or food surplus

Leave a Reply

