Monday Musings – DC Adventures

About a month ago, I was invited to speak at the “Road to Majority” conference put on by the Faith and Freedom Coalition which was started by Ralph Reed as a conservative organization promoting conservative values and morals.

This past weekend, I packed my bags and headed up to Washington DC!

IMG_2976

Thankfully, my hotel was covered, so I brought along my mom and 2 of my sisters so they could explore the city while I was attending the conference! 3:00 am on Thursday came way too quickly, but I pulled myself out of bed, made a pot of coffee, and finished getting ready. We left home around 5:00 am and enjoyed a beautiful drive!

IMG_2949

We arrived to the stunning JW Marriott…

IMG_3129

After checking in, I quickly headed over to the Ronald Reagan building to attend a luncheon!

IMG_2952

Several senators addressed us at lunch!

Rand Paul sat at my table for about 5 minutes while waiting to speak…

IMG_2954

IMG_2973

Marco Rubio spoke as well…

IMG_2968

After lunch, we all hopped on a bus and headed over to Capital Hill to speak with our respective congressmen and senators. When I was riding the elevator up to lunch, I heard a lady beside me talking about North Carolina, so I asked her what part of NC she was from, and we hit it off. We ended up sitting together at lunch and then we pranced around Capital Hill together! She knew several of the congressmen personally, unfortunately, they weren’t in the office, but we dropped by and left messages!

IMG_2984

After vising several offices, we headed down to a reception with several more congressmen and senators!

I couldn’t help snapping a few more pictures of this beautiful building!

IMG_2988

IMG_2989

Oh, I also ran into the back of John McCain…

IMG_2987

At the reception, Senator Ted Cruz spoke

IMG_3002

I also had the incredible privilege of meeting and chatting with Congressman Trent Franks of Arizona. He is championing pro-life bills and writing pro-life legislation. While chatting with him, I told him about some of the pro-life work I had done at Liberty while I was there. He gave me his business card and said to contact him!! One of the highlights of my weekend!

IMG_3015

After the reception, I ate dinner with a few friends and then we headed to an after hours social with some more incredible speakers!! While there, I got to meet Rick Santorum, Mike Huckabee and others!

The next day, I was up early to grab some coffee and gather my thoughts before the day began! Then I settled in for the morning to hear from an all-star line up of speakers including…

Michele Bachmann

IMG_3019

Jeb Bush

IMG_3022

Paul Ryan

IMG_3027

I managed to snag a picture with Paul Ryan!

IMG_3033

After lunch, it was time to meet up with Johnnie Moore (from Liberty University) and the other panelists. Our topic was “Winning the next generation”. We briefly discussed the flow of the panel. There were four of us on the panel, and once we got situated in the room, Johnnie began the discussion. He lead the panel in such a way that I felt like I was having a conversation with friends, instead of addressing strangers. I was very pleased with how the panel turned out and am honored to have been a part of it.

Then, I quickly headed up to my room to change for a gala where Donald Trump was our guest speaker!

IMG_3064

It was Donald’s birthday, so he addressed the dinner guests, and then headed out, but Sandi Patti was there and serenaded us with the voice of an angel. Pat Robertson was there and received a lifetime achievement award!

IMG_3074

IMG_3079

Some of my new friends

IMG_3078

We headed out to explore DC by the glow of the lights

IMG_3080

I don’t think the architecture could be any more lovely!

IMG_3088

IMG_3090

IMG_3082

IMG_3085

A great time was had by all!

IMG_3081

The next morning was yet another all-star line up of speakers!

Governor Rick Perry

IMG_3100

IMG_3103

Herman Cain

IMG_3117

Sarah Palin

IMG_3119

IMG_3125

Wow! What an absolutely fabulous weekend!

I want to make one quick point! Even though I had the opportunity to meet and interact with some political leaders of the world, they are just people. One of the things I always tell myself is – “How do they put their pants on in the morning? One leg at a time – just like me!” The point being, even though they have big titles, big bank accounts, and big jobs, at the end of the day, they are just people. The ground is level at the foot of the cross!!

2 thoughts on “Monday Musings – DC Adventures

  1. Pingback: Moving to Washington DC! | Chelsea Patterson

Leave a Reply

