Pro-Life Emphasis Week – Recap

Wow…just wow!! I am still trying to process everything that happened this past week!

I had the honor of planning and putting together a Pro-Life Emphasis Week at Liberty University! When I first became the Senior Class President, I honestly didn’t really know what to do. I knew I had a cool position, but past a title, I was kind of at a loss at what to do. So, I decided to pray about it. The Lord asked me what both He and I were passionate about, and I responded, “Life”. When the Lord placed me in the position of Senior Class President, I never knew what was going to happen, but I set about planning for a Pro-Life Emphasis week for the student body. The early stages of planning began in September, and have been in the works ever since then.

The purpose of the week was to educate ourselves on how to be pro-life not only in word, but also in deed, and to inspire the world’s largest Christian university to hold life as precious and dear, just like our Father!

images

The beginning of the week was awful, and Tuesday was probably one of the worst day’s I’ve had in a long time. I cried openly in public more than once. Everything was falling apart on Tuesday. There was a lot of stuff happening back home which was breaking my heart, and things were not coming together with pro-life week. I found out that I didn’t have access to the money that I was counting on (which was about $1000). Thing after thing wasn’t going right. When I got into bed on Tuesday night, I felt defeated and discouraged and was so close to just throwing up my hands and cancelling the entire week.

When I got up on Wednesday morning, my dear mother had sent me a Facebook message…

Remember that this week belongs to God, and He is well-able to make of it what He wants. You don’t have to do it in your own strength, and even through your willingness to put this together, He doesn’t want to share the glory of it. Get physical rest, and stay in that place of obedient,joyful rest in Christ.

More than anything I needed that reminder.

This wasn’t my week.
This wasn’t my glory.
This wasn’t my success.

….this was God’s.

Wednesday morning I prayed this prayer…

“Father, you were the one who placed this idea on my heart. You were the one guiding me through everything. I gave this week to you a long time ago, but I’ve taken it back into my own hands. I’m sorry that I’ve been running around like an idiot trying to get everything done. I’m sorry for stealing your glory. I hand you control of this week. I’ve never been in a place where I could fail so miserably. Lord, I ask you to come through and make this week a success! Even if it doesn’t look like what I think it should, it’s in your hands.”

I do not have sufficient words to even begin to describe all that God did!!! I literally just stood back and watched the Lord work all week.

Pro-Life organizations set up tables in the back hallway of DeMoss all week.

Rock For Life sold T-Shirts and other pro-life merchandise, and raised well over $1000.

IMG_2269

Some of my friends who stand for life

IMG_2218

IMG_2213

My incredible friend Sean, who runs the pro-life club on campus called Lifeline also set up a table!

IMG_2268

On Wednesday, we had Mike Spencer from the Life Training Institute come and do a session on “Abortion and Apologetics” Students listened for an hour as he discussed how to intelligently discuss the subject of being pro-life from science, philosophy, etc. Then they participated in an in depth question and answer!

IMG_2223

After campus church, students participated in a prayer walk!

IMG_0936

I had the opportunity to meet Clayton King before church and discuss the week a little bit with him! He was adopted as a baby and lives in North Carolina! I feel like we should be friends!

IMG_2231

On Thursday, I had asked Phil Kline to give a talk on “Abortion and the Law”. He gave the best talk I’ve ever heard on abortion! Quickly, he captured everyone’s attention, and held it for well over an hour. Mr. Kline is the former Attorney General from Kansas, and is the only prosecutor to ever obtain abortion clinic records from Planned Parenthood. It was an incredible honor for him to participate in the week!

IMG_2245

IMG_2243

Friday’s convocation will forever stand as one of my all-time favorite memories. I had asked the entire student body to wear either red or white shirts, depending on their section. One third of the students wore red, to represent the amount of people “missing” due to abortion. I’m going to be honest, even though I had broadcast as much as I knew how, in the back of my mind, I never really expected people to participate. When I arrived to convo on Friday morning, I was blown away. Tears started pouring down my checks as I saw the student body participating!!

I have never been more humbled or in awe of all that the Lord accomplished!!

IMG_2267

Johnnie Moore spoke on why Christians should hold life as sacred, and did an excellent job!

The week was ended in the most incredible way ever! Phil Wickham came in for a free concert!! A love offering was taken, and all of the proceeds went directly to the Liberty Godparent Home! The concert was one of the most Christ-centered concert’s I’ve ever attended and Phil shared some of his new songs with us!

IMG_2281

I had the privilege of meeting him and chatting with him about the week! He was incredibly gracious and kind!

IMG_2296

Best pro-life emphasis week!!!

2 thoughts on “Pro-Life Emphasis Week – Recap

  1. Thank you for reviewing all that took place this week at Lliberty University. What an incredible event! It was wonderful to be able to share in it through your blog.

  2. Progressive . . . someone who enjoys having their head stuck up their arse.Now don’t be too hard on the anony-clod (hi Kate!), BCL. You did invite everyone to have an aimless discussion on the definition of progressive, and lil’ ‘nony here was just following orrAes.dnything that ridicules Barbara Amiel is progressive, as far as I’m concerned.

Leave a Reply

