Unfulfilled Longings

Last week, I had the privilege of teaching on the topic of unfulfilled longings. As I studied to present the lesson, the Lord did a number on my heart. I would like to share what I have been learning, and I am going to be extremely honest, it has been hard for me. I have been on my face before the Lord having to surrender a lot to Him. I have had to repent. I have had to seek His forgiveness.


Our Father is so incredibly loving and kind, and has gently been teaching me.


To begin with, I am going to define my terms. A longing is defined as, “A yearning desire or a craving.” And the word desire is defined as, “A strong feeling of wanting to have something or wishing for something to happen.”


As I searched the Scriptures for examples of people and their longings, naturally I turned to the book of Psalms.

“O Lord, all my longing is before you; my sighing is not hidden from you.”
-Psalm 38:9

“For he satisfies the longing soul, and the hungry soul he fills with good things.”
-Psalm 107:9

I found it encouraging that the psalmist pours out heart before the Lord and admits that he has longings, and things that his soul desires.

A big part of my story is a big unfulfilled desire that the Lord has chosen for me. There is an area of my life where my Beloved has chosen not to fulfill my longings in the way I thought He would. At first, I was frustrated with the Lord, because I didn’t understand why He had chosen the path He did for me.

I still don’t understand…but I trust Him!

As you read these verses, and I share a tiny bit of my story, I would encourage you to search your heart before the Lord and ask yourself this question, “What are some areas of my life that I am frustrated/angry/anxious because God hasn’t fulfilled a desire in my heart?

Beloved, we are always going to have unfulfilled longings this side of heaven.

“Thou hast formed us for Thyself, and our hearts are restless til they find rest in Thee.”
– Augustine

What a beautiful truth. How often have I run around and held my heart to so many people and things and said,

“Will you fill my cup?

Will you satisfy the deepest longings of my heart?”

And every single time…I am disappointed! When I run to my Savior and ask Him the same questions, He always respond with a resounding “Yes, my dear child!” I challenge you to spend time with Christ, and ask Him to reveal His extreme love for you!


It is important to note that it is not necessarily wrong to have longings, however, it is wrong when we demand that those longing be fulfilled here and now, or be met in illegitimate ways. Until God provides the legitimate context to fulfill our longings, we must learn to be content with unfulfilled longings. (Idea taken from the book, “Lies Women Believe” by Nancy Leigh DeMoss) I’m not going to lie, this truth is a hard one to swallow sometimes. I cannot tell you how often I have thought about sneaking around and trying to fulfill my own desires without the Lord knowing what I’m doing. (How dumb can I be!) Dear One, the Lord knows and remembers that you have longings! He hasn’t forgotten you!

You see, our Savior knows that every created thing is guaranteed to disappoint us. You are always going to live in a state of disappointment if you expect people to satisfy you.

You were created for Christ!! Don’t ever forget that!

Leave a Reply

