March For Life – Recap

This past weekend, I was blessed beyond measure to participate in the March For Life in Washington DC. My mind is still trying to process all of the experiences and things that happened, but there is one word that I keep coming back to, and that word is…awesome!

The definition of the word “awesome” is: Extremely impressive; inspiring great admiration; causing awe.

I hope that better words will come in time, but for now, the word “awesome” is all I can seem to come up with. I would like to offer up my humble recap of the March For Life, and I hope it encourages you that there are still countless others in America fighting for the lives of the unborn.

images

3:45 am…*Beep Beep Beep* Off goes my alarm clock!! I quickly turned it off so that my roommate wouldn’t wake up, and dragged myself to the coffee maker, before showering and getting ready. The weather forecast was below freezing all day in DC, so I put on a pair of leggings, pants, boots, two tank tops, a regular shirt, a cardigan, a coat, a scarf, gloves and a hat!! My body was going to be warm! After getting ready, I made my way to our rendezvous for the bus. There were about 60 students from Liberty University that attended the March For Life. My heart was so happy that there were so many students up at 5:00 am, eager to go walk for the lives of the unborn.

The drive to DC was uneventful. When we arrived, we regrouped and headed to the National Mall, where we were able to get right up to the stage.

photo

Sounds of Liberty, a singing group from LU started off by performing the Star Spangled Banner. Then speaker after speaker came and addressed the crowd! There were speakers ranging from senators and representatives, to a guy who had been born out of rape! Rick Santorum and his family were there and told a story of how a doctor had recommended that they abort their youngest daughter, but they chose life for her! What an inspiration!

photo3

My heart was deeply encouraged that the Gospel was proclaimed and preached from the stage by countless speakers!

After about an hour worth of speakers, the crowd began the official “March” to the Supreme Court Building! While we were walking, it began to snow. I’m not gonna lie, my little tail was about to freeze off, but I tried not to think about how cold my body was, because I was surrounded by so many others, who were freezing as well, but we all had one common purpose. The actual walk to the Supreme Court Building took about 2 hours! Many people were carrying signs saying “Defend Life”, “Defund Planned Parenthood”, “Life is Scared” and others! One of the coolest things was walking by the Senate office, and seeing the line of people out the door of people going to talk to their respected representatives to declare to them that Americans hold life as precious!

March-for-Life

photo2

When we got to the Supreme Court Building, everyone dispersed.

photo6

photo10

My heart was beyond encouraged when I heard the estimated number of attendees at the March For Life. 500,000! Half a million people showed up in Washington DC to declare to the government, our President, America, and the world that we support LIFE! It was so surreal to be with that many people who all shared the same goal!

I am resolved to work as hard as I possibly can to end legalized abortion. Not on my watch will I simply sit around while babies are being murdered at the hands of the American people!

One thought on “March For Life – Recap

Leave a Reply

