In order that I may gain Christ – my personal experiences with suffering.

The past 48 hours have been pretty difficult….

245868460876251380_pKt8XiPq_b

Tuesday around midnight I received a text from my Uncle informing me that my grandma was in the ER. I was pretty shaken up, and up half the night. Thankfully she will be okay, but nevertheless, a text in the middle of the night about someone being in the hospital is never easy.

Yesterday, I found out that my financial situation for this semester isn’t working out how I originally thought. To be completely honest, I’m not 100% sure when it’s going to get resolved. My eyes have cried plenty of tears over the past 2 days, but I have not gone into despair. Why??

Because difficult life circumstances point me straight to Christ!!

81064862012728160_mHUNmNwa_b

Over the past year, the Lord has placed many difficult circumstances in my life, and then said,

“Chelsea, are you going to trust Me?”

I would like to say that my response has always been a resounding “yes”, but that is not the case. Often times, my first reaction is frustration, fear or anxiety. But the Lord is so gentle with me, and has been teaching me how to trust Him. I trust God because…

He is Good

He is in control

He is God

He is on His throne

He will never leave me

He has a greater plan than I can see in this moment

He will never forsake me

He is sovereign

Beloved, my heart is well acquainted with suffering. The past three years have held some monumental trials, but throughout the biggest trials in my life, here are some things that I have learned.

* When I found out from a doctor that my body isn’t “perfect”, and that there will yet be trails in my future concerning my body – The Lord revealed that my ultimate hope cannot be in something physical. One day, He has promised to redeem everything that was lost, and I know that one day, in heaven, my body will be perfect.

* When someone extremely close to me chose to walk out of my life – A relationship with a friend or family member cannot be who I look to for fulfillment. People come and go, and while it is almost devastating when someone you thought would be there forever chooses to leave, the Lord will always remain with me.

* When a family member doesn’t know the Lord as their personal Savior, and has told you that they want absolutely nothing to do with God – This situation gives me reason to trust that the Lord loves this family member more than I could ever imagine, and that I will choose to be diligent in prayer concerning this person and pray fervently for their salvation.

* When money is tight – Things on this earth will never ultimately satisfy, and the same goes with money. The Lord has promised that He will provide everything we need…not everything we want. Through times like these, I have searched my heart and laid everything bare before the Lord concerning what I truly need.

Dear reader, this isn’t meant to be a giant pity party for myself, or to ramble on and on about the trials I’ve faced. We have all had our share of difficult times. I wanted to use this time to encourage you! My life isn’t perfect, but I serve a perfect God!

“This is God’s universal purpose for all Christian suffering – more contentment in God and less satisfaction in the world.” – John Piper

I pray that as your go through this life, through all the good and the bad, that you will fall more and more in love with Jesus! Philippians is one of my favorite books of the Bible, and I found myself there this morning. As I read, I began to weep, because Paul so clearly expressed my hearts desires.

“Indeed I count everything as loss because of the surpassing worth of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord. For his sake I have suffered the loss of all things and count them as rubbish in order that I may gain Christ.” – Philippians 3:8

Everything you go through in life should be to bring GLORY to GOD, and so that you may gain Christ! What a beautiful truth. Beloved, I assure you that when you press in to the Father’s loving arms and say…

“Lord, I have absolutely no idea how you are going to work, I don’t see how this trial can be redeemed. But nevertheless, I choose to trust You. I choose to declare that knowing you is better than anything this life could ever bring.”

Please know that I am praying for you as you read these words. If there is anything specific I can pray for, don’t hesitate to ask!!

235805730459811864_TYY3RdDB_b

One thought on “In order that I may gain Christ – my personal experiences with suffering.

  1. That was beautiful… I have recently heard some rather bitter views on the reasons why we suffer…. And while I personally do not enjoy suffering, I can see the hope in believing in a Savior who suffered as we do. It’s the only thing that makes sense!

Leave a Reply

