What does Jesus want for Christmas?

During the midst of the Christmas season, and as Christmas day approaches, I’ve been going through John Piper’s devotional called “Good News of Great Joy”.

images

There is a scripture reading along with a devotion each day through the Advent season. I’ve really enjoyed it! (For those of you that know me, you know that I’m a huge Piper fan!) You can download the free ebook here. In the beginning of the ebook, Piper has a preface entitled, “What does Jesus want for Christmas?” I’d like to share some thoughts based off of that chapter. My heart has been inclined to worship the Father through meditating on these truths, and I pray that you will see this Christmas season in a new light!

Honestly, I’ve never really though about what Jesus wanted and desired from the Christmas season. Obviously, every year, we read the Christmas story, and we always talk about keeping the Christ in Christmas (as cheesy as that sounds.) I have the head knowledge that Christmas is all about Christ. But I’ve never truly dwelt on Christ’s goals and desires for this season.

So what does Jesus want for Christmas??

….Does He want us to put up nice trees?

….Does He want us to buy presents for one another?

….Does He want us to perform “good” deeds during this season?

….Does He want another Christmas pageant of musican?

The answer as to what Jesus wants for Christmas is found in John 17:24.

“Father, I desire that they also, whom you have given me, may be with me where I am, to see my glory that you have given me because you have loved me before the foundation of the world.”

Dear One, Jesus made us to see His glory!! God wasn’t lonely, He didn’t create us so that He could have company. The trinity was completely and utterly happy delighting in one another. God made us so that we could be with Him and see His glory. He is concerned about our satisfaction and our longing, not His loneliness. We are the ones starving for something that One Christ can fulfill.

Christ wants for us to experience that for which we were truly made – seeing and savoring His glory!!

151292868701719983_aEebcyRo_b

What exactly does this mean? Beloved, you and I were created not only to see the glory of God, but to savor it, it, delight in it, treasure it and love it. What an incredibly beautiful truth! Christ’s desire for us for Christmas (and every other season of life) is that we get supreme delight and satisfaction out of Him. What greater gift could He have given us than Himself! This gift must include two parties. Christ is constantly displaying His glory for us to see, but we must delight and find satisfaction.

182536591117194273_ZuIyS8bj_b

The comparison can be a set of lovers. If one lover is pouring out himself daily for his beloved, but it is never received, there is no joy because the acts of love is never delighted in . But when two lovers are completely giving of themselves in every way (in the marriage context), it is one of the most beautiful things, because each party is seeking to satisfy the other. So it is with Christ, He is seeking to give us all of Himself, because He knows that Him and Him alone is the only thing that will truly satisfy our souls. But we must make the choice to delight and relish in Him.

But that is not all that Christ wants! There is more, and oh how stunningly beautiful this is!!

Jesus’s longing and goal is that we see his glory and then we will be able to love what we see with the same love that the Father has for the Son! He doesn’t mean that we merely imitate the love of the Father. He means the Father’s very love becomes our love for the Son! This is the gift of the Spirit! Love for the Son by the Father through the Spirit. Dearest, I cannot think of a more incredible gift than that! My heart so despertly longs that you might join me in seeing Christ in all of his fulness and that we might be able to love what we see with a love far beyond our own half-hearted human capacities.

19140367137581105_SjMmdBLS_b

Father, teach me to see and savor Your glory. Teach me to love you, not imitate love, but truly love you. My heart beats faster when I read passages such as these, because I get a glimpse of your incredible majesty. Thank you for revealing Your glory to your creation! You are such a good God and a good Savior!

Leave a Reply

