Rest in Christ….

It’s been one of those weeks…
You know the kind I’m talking about.

The kind of weeks where I feel like I’m just trying to keep my head above water and not completely drown.
The kind of weeks where all I want to do is run away from all of my work because I”m so overwhelmed.
The kind of weeks where my heart is aching.
The kind of weeks where I have not made an intentional effort to settle my heart and my mind in the Lord.

Today was my tipping point…my to-do list is longer than I wish

All week long, I’ve rushed around trying so hard trying to accomplish so much, and today I had a breakdown. I ran into the arms of my Father sobbing and complaining about how much I had on my plate and about how I can’t get it all done. As I wept before the Lord, He spoke gently to me…

Sweet child, stop trying so hard to do so much. You are exhausting yourself and carrying a burden that I have not asked you to carry. Stop trying to do things for me and simply be with me. I ask that you press into me and seek my face. I will provide all the strength that you need. Let your pride and your desire for perfectionism go. Trust in Me!

To be completely honest, I haven’t spent time with the Lord like my soul needed this week, because I have been focusing on the urgent instead of the important. Trust me, there is a big difference between the two. Tonight, I sat down on my bed for a moment, and ended up napping. It was glorious! The room was quiet, so I grabbed my Bible and made myself a giant cup of tea (Earl Gray, my favorite) and had some time with my Beloved.
The Lord gave me His rest tonight. Yes, I still have my to-do list, I still have a 10 page paper, I still have an exam, I still have laundry needs doing, I still have emails that need answering, etc, but my attitude is different.

I am resting in Christ.

I am resting in who He is. I am resting in who I am in Him. I am resting in the fact that I don’t need to work to earn His acceptance or favor. I am resting in the fact that I am loved. I am resting in the fact that my God will fight for me. I am resting in the fact that I have everything I need for life and godliness. I am resting in the fact that the God will give me strength.

I am resting in Christ.

“I accomplish more when I rest wholly in the labor of Jesus than I do when I frantically try to do the work for Him.” – A.W. Tozer

Beloved, I pray that you may rest in Christ. I pray that you might pause and seek the quiet place with the Lord. There is nothing in the world that should stop us from finding out true rest in God.

Leave a Reply

