Simply…pray!

Beloved, one of the greatest lessons I am learning in my journey with the Lord is prayer. I have written before on prayer and it’s extreme importance to the life of a Christian. I am starting a series on the Spiritual disciplines. (This is based on a bible study I am currently going through right now) I have entitled this series “Simply…” and each week I will focus on a different Spiritual discipline. The purpose of this is to point you closer to Jesus.

I am by no means an expert on prayer, but it is something that I truly love to do! My heart beats faster when I wake up in the morning, because I know that I’m about to spend time with my Jesus, communicating with Him. Prayer hasn’t always been a delight for me. I can remember as a little girl, I would play a game with myself and try to see if I could keep my eyes closed the entire time the pastor would pray in church. (They tended to be pretty lengthy prayers!)

To be honest, the greatest thing that has made prayer a source of joy for me is…desperation! There have been so many times in my life where I am completely and utterly helpless, and in those times, the Lord has taught me where my true dependance comes from. I don’t understand sometimes how prayer works, but I do know that it does. I don’t understand sometimes the mind of God, but I do know that I can trust Him. Beloved, press into the heart of your Savior and spend deep, intimate time in prayer with Him. As clichĂ© as may sound, prayer makes a difference. Prayer is communicating with God Almighty, creator of the Heavens and the Earth!

This video from John Piper does an incredible job discussing prayer!!

Prayer Changes Things

Leave a Reply

