Choose life – my birth mom did!

My heart was broken this week as I watched the Democratic National Convention, and saw the crowds cheer for “women being allowed to make their own choice over their bodies.” Over 25 speakers indirectly referenced abortion and their outright support for abortion. As I watched the crowds cheer in support of the murder of innocent lives, I wanted to vomit. The topic of the sanctity of human life is extremely near to my heart.

I was born in Bucharest, Romania to a young girl during a time of poverty in the country. Romania had been under communist rule for 44 years, and at the time I was born, they only had their freedom from Nicolae Ceaușescu (the dictator) for a little over a year.

Hardly a day goes by that I am not acutely aware of the Lord’s hand on the events surrounding my birth.

My birth mom chose life for me!

I do not know what she was going through before and during her pregnancy with me, but I do know that she chose to give me life! I do not know my birth mom, but I thank the Lord every day that she did not chose to end my life. Today, I have the two most incredible people on the planet as my parents, and I have more gratitude in my heart that I can ever begin to express.

I am grateful for….

* Being born
* My adoption
* My parents
* My family
* Life

Beloved, life is precious…anyone who tells you otherwise is liar! One of my favorite quotes on this subject is by Ronald Reagan…

“I’ve noticed that everyone that is for abortion has already been born!”

As Christians, we should have a firm stance on life and protecting the unborn. We should go about it with love and our ultimate goal should be to lead others to Christ’s redeeming love in the process. I urge you to take a stand for the sanctity of human life, but to do it in a manner that honors the Lord.

I have been blessed beyond measure. Not only was I given the gift of life, I was given the gift of adoption. My parents also adopted 5 other children from Europe. Other than my Jesus, they are the most dear and precious things in my life…

8 thoughts on “Choose life – my birth mom did!

  1. The topic of the sanctity of human life is extremely near to my heart.

    Except when it comes to women who happen to get pregnant. Medical complications due to pregnancy, oh well. Can’t support another child, oh well. Put it in god’s hands – Nice thinking, if it was the 13th century.

    I suggest you focus on giving women the right to decide what is going on in their own body. Your religious delusions are not valid justifications for taking away peoples’ rights.

  2. My mother was advised to have an abortion when she was pregnant with me due to health concerns. I am thankful that she did not give in to pressure. Each abortion ends a life. I cry too when people don’t seem to get that.

    • Each abortion ends a life. I cry too when people don’t seem to get that.

      So are you angry with your godhead of choice for aborting millions of “babies” every month?

      “The argument then, is as follows. The embryo has the
      same moral status as an adult human (the Claim). Medical
      studies show that more than 60% of all people are killed by
      spontaneous abortion (a biological fact). Therefore, spontaneous
      abortion is one of the most serious problems facing
      humanity, and we must do our utmost to investigate ways
      of preventing this death—even if this is to the detriment of
      other pressing issues (the Conclusion).”

      So, if you’re up in arms about us humans choosing what they want to do with their bodies, do tell me about the destinies of all the dead children your kind and loving god has mercilessly been killing (and continues to do so) since we evolved? And yes in your happy little delusion “natural means” does equal “by god”.

      I react when others advocate what I can and cannot do with my body. If you like embracing the bronze-age mythology and all of the horror associated with it, fine, it is your choice.

      But do not think you get a free pass in advocating for the treatment of all women. In the horror story you seem to advocate, women (fully formed human beings with personhood status) die. Have you heard of a Etopic Pregnancy? You know how they treat ectopic pregnancy? They remove the cells that are growing in the wrong spot…aka an abortion – and you argue against this?

      Your commitment to life seems to begin and end with the fetus.

  3. @ Arbourist: I read your articles on etopic pregnancy and spontaneous abortion. I found them both to be interesting and educational.

    I had a couple questions for you on the matter, Arbourist. I am in the pro-life camp, but in an effort to be open minded, I do honestly want to know a few things.

    I’m not out for an argument; it’s midnight and I find it tiresome to exchange with someone who already made up their mind.

    I just want to know how you came to your conclusions that being pro-choice is the better way. I find when I try to ask questions about this, I often get side-stepped with my questions because I’m “a religious, closed-minded bigot who wouldn’t listen anyway”, or get barraged by know-it-alls who haven’t double-checked their facts. I honestly find that many pro-lifers have the same quality. Pro-choicers are portrayed as either ‘liberal, closed-minded bigots who have no regard for human life’, or hunted down by big-mouthed egoists who close their eyes and ears to the people around them because their own agenda is too big to let them see anything else.
    I hope you are in neither camp.
    We all come at any conclusion with an agenda, with a purpose for being there. So please forgive me if I look at it through my eyes, not yours, or his, or hers, or anyone else’s. I’m trying, from my eyes, to see through your glasses.

    – Where do you draw the line at being human? As you say, “full personhood”? What qualifies a person as being “fully formed”? And, how do you come to this conclusion?

    – The article about The Claim seems to implicate that natural and artificial abortion are in the end the same because the fetus dies. Excuse me, but a natural death and a murder caused by a human being seem to be entirely different things. Why do you connect the two as if they are one?

    – Why do you say God is the one aborting the babies who die of natural causes? People die of starvation every day. God isn’t the one killing them. They have no food, so they die. The world isn’t perfect, so it doesn’t work the way we want it to all the time.

    – You said that “natural means by God”. I don’t agree. I believe God is a kind, merciful, and loving God, yes. He created a perfect world, yes. But men messed it up. Sin came in, ruined it all, and death came as a price. God gave men a choice. Men chose wrong. So was that God’s fault? Should God have made us into happy little automatons who do everything perfectly, with no will of our own? That just makes Him into a sick dictator. Nature fell when men fell. Bad things happen, you know it. But because God wants it to? No.

    – If I cannot, as you say, advocate pro-life to women, what gives you the right to advocate pro-choice to them?

    It’s late, and I’m tired, but I’m even more tired of people avoiding my questions. If you could give me a civil reply, that would be a breath of fresh air. Thanks.

    @ Chelsea: I’ve heard the stories of several people, including one of my favorite teachers, whose birth mothers chose to go through with their pregnancy and gave them up for adoption. I always find it touching. How hard it must have been for the mothers to give up their child and what circumstances that had to go through to make that decision. How courageous for the adoptive parents to care for a new life. For the child to have been blessed for having the chance at life. Thank you for sharing your story and your firm stance for life.

    • Where do you draw the line at being human? As you say, “full personhood”? What qualifies a person as being “fully formed”? And, how do you come to this conclusion?

      Now if indeed your intent is honest, useful, discussion then why are we starting with one of the classic anti-choice chestnuts of focusing on the fetus. The important person here is the woman, she is fully formed has rights and in theory has bodily autonomy. When do we typically gain these rights, the idea of personhood et cetera – is when we are born. Notice how we celebrate birthdays, not conception days.

      The article about The Claim seems to implicate that natural and artificial abortion are in the end the same because the fetus dies. Excuse me, but a natural death and a murder caused by a human being seem to be entirely different things. Why do you connect the two as if they are one?

      Not to go all consequentialist on you here, but dead is dead – is it not? Can you tell me the difference in “deadness” between being murdered dead and dying naturally dead? How can they not be the same thing?

      Why do you say God is the one aborting the babies who die of natural causes? People die of starvation every day. God isn’t the one killing them. They have no food, so they die. The world isn’t perfect, so it doesn’t work the way we want it to all the time.

      Kinda says alot about god now doesn’t it. Oh see his infinite compassion in action – starve quietly for jesus. Not seeing a lot of compassion going on, nor any evidence that the godhead in question cares. Epicurus’s quote comes to mind –

      “Is God willing to prevent evil, but not able?
      Then he is not omnipotent.
      Is he able, but not willing?
      Then he is malevolent.
      Is he both able and willing?
      Then whence cometh evil?
      Is he neither able nor willing?
      Then why call him God?”

      Just sayin’.

      I believe God is a kind, merciful, and loving God, yes.

      Well that is nice belief isn’t it?

      I believe in a large invisibly pink unicorn whose magical flatulence makes the earth spin and the plants grow.

      Your claim and my claim have the exact sameargumentative weight and meaning. Explicitly, a unevidenced, non-factual statement of belief. The passion that I feel for my belief is inconsequential (the pink unicorn speaks to me in my heart too) to the argument at hand and reality in general.

      But men messed it up. Sin came in, ruined it all, and death came as a price. God gave men a choice. Men chose wrong. So was that God’s fault?

      You choose to add an unnecessary layer of ooga-booga to a reality that is amazing, wonderful and mysterious all on its own. Why you do this, I do not know. Rest assured I though I can say that the godhead of your choice did not make a perfect world or perfect humans. Evolution and our lovely selfish genes are responsible for what we see today. I make this claim on the evidence we have to date, not on what a particular magic book says or what my parents taught me when I was young.

      that just makes Him into a sick dictator.

      I realize that this is quoted out of context but it is the most accurate statement you have made about the ooga-booga of your choice so far.

      Nature fell when men fell. Bad things happen, you know it. But because God wants it to? No.

      Isn’t this a bit of an arrogant claim? It would seem to suggest that you have access too or privy to the mind of god. If his intentions are so clear then why has he not made it clear to everyone, you know with evidence that he actually exists and isn’t impotent? And what if god turns out to be Allah? Some 2.2 billion muslims believe as feverently as *you* do in that their particular ooga-booga is the One True GoD and have just as strong claim as you do.

      If I cannot, as you say, advocate pro-life to women, what gives you the right to advocate pro-choice to them?

      You can advocate as vociferously as you would like. What you cannot do is take away my rights as to what is going on in my body. You are under no obligation to give me your kidney, even if I am dying, to save my life. Why is that? It is because you are in charge of your body and the stuff inside it. There is no exception when it comes to the uterus.

      So, I am not against your advocacy I am against the faulty reasoning behind it. It is nonsensical (you read the Claim), delusional (religious objections – my magic pink unicorn thinks your god is a poopy-head) and denudes women of their rights to bodily autonomy.

  4. Thank you for taking the time to reply. I know you are a probably a very busy person, as I have seen the activity on your blog. While I do have several issues with the points you bring up, I’d rather not discuss them here on the blog; this isn’t the appropriate forum for a debate.There are plenty of other places to discuss such issues. I’m afraid I’m not familiar with wordpress, but if there’s a way to pm you, I’d rather like to continue. You present interesting points, and I’m not one to turn down the opportunity to learn something.

    I’m surprised at how acid you are to a God you do not believe exists, though. I don’t believe in unicorns, and that doesn’t particularly bother me. My main issue wasn’t the existence of God; rather, the ethics of abortion. God I can’t help but draw into it because of my faith, but your argument strayed to a rant about the non-existence of an unfair God instead of what I thought the main issue was here: abortion.

    At any rate, hope you have a good rest of the day.

    • I’d rather like to continue. You present interesting points, and I’m not one to turn down the opportunity to learn something.

      Please be welcome on my blog and feel free to continue the conversation on one of the Sunday disservice threads, they are usually pretty quiet. :)

      God I can’t help but draw into it because of my faith, but your argument strayed to a rant about the non-existence of an unfair God instead of what I thought the main issue was here: abortion.

      Bring up magic and mythology and I get feisty, guilty as charged. But, agreed the derail is unnecessary and shan’t be continued here by me. Thank you for the arguments and thanks to our host for providing a forum for discussion.

Leave a Reply

