An honest look at suffering…

I don’t understand God sometimes….

I would be lying if I said that I completely understood Him…

My heart asks the question “why” of the Lord way too often. The Lord hasn’t promised me that He will reveal His purpose and plans to me. But He has promised something far greater….

Beloved, our Father has promised that He always be with us!

That truth makes my heart soar to new heights because I know that no matter what my circumstances may be, I have the Father right beside me. My life has had some pretty crazy trails recently; things have happened that I never imagined would happened. I have wept before the Lord as I’ve bared my soul to Him and I have asked Him the question of “Why is this happening?” The Lord has not given me answers, but I didn’t actually need answers to my questions, I needed the love of my Savior. I needed His presence to sustain me…His love to surround me and His goodness to penetrate every part of my being.

I can’t say that I will ever have answers for what the Lord has chosen to place in my life, but the need for answers diminishes every time I focus my attention upon Christ. When I look at my circumstances, I become depressed and hopeless. The reason is because I am not looking to Christ. There have been times in my life that I have gone through counseling, there have been times in my life where I have been depressed, there have been times in my life where I have struggled with anxiety. Beloved, I am not a perfect person, I have struggled with many things, but I have found the answer to all of life’s problems, and that is….

Jesus!

When my heart’s affection and attention is fixed upon Jesus, my circumstances don’t always necessarily change, but Jesus changes me. He provides His strength to endure the trials, He provides His patience, His love, His grace, His goodness, etc. I don’t have to do anything but cast my cares upon Him. I beg you to see how simple this is, yes you will go through trials and pains, celebrations and joys, but you have the constant love of your Heavenly Father. Press into Him. If you’re going through a difficult time, please know that I have prayed for you, as you are reading these words, that the Lord will reveal Himself to you. No, I can’t promise that everything will turn out okay, but I can promise you, that as a child of the most High King, you will never ever be alone!

Jesus is your hope!!

 

Leave a Reply

