My Rock of Refuge…

My heart has felt just about every emotion possible in the past week. It’s crazy how in one short week, your life can change so much. To be completely honest, I’m struggling….

“When you take a breath and exhale in sobs, fall against the chest of Jesus. He will hold you til you can breathe again.”

-Piper

I don’t know how people go through trails and suffering without Christ. Over the past few days, I have cried out to Him, poured my heart out to Him, screamed to Him, and cling to His words. While my tears have been many this week, my heart has found solace in His word.

“Be to me a rock of refuge, to which I may continually come; you have given the command to save me, for you are my rock and my fortress. For you, O Lord, are my hope, my trust, O LORD, from you. O God, be not far from me; O my God, make haste to help me! You who have made me see many troubles and calamities will revive me.”

(Excerpts from Psalm 71)

I love the picture of God being a rock of refuge. A rock is constant and a source of strength. The word refuge is defined as “a shelter or protection from distress/a place of safety” It is so comforting to know that while my circumstances may be crazy, unpredictable and challenging, I have a safe place that I can run to…

The arms of my Father!

I know that my Father is present in my trails. He promises never to leave or forsake me. That is truth. I can cling to the fact that He is with me during all of the turmoil, the Lord is my consistent Rock of Refuge.

Lord,

I trust you…

I trust you with my heart. I trust you with my pain. I trust you with my family. I trust you with my future. I trust you when I don’t understand. I trust you because you are trustworthy. I trust you because you are good. I trust you because you are God!

 

One thought on “My Rock of Refuge…

Leave a Reply

