Soul Talk…

There is a little practice I have that I like to call “soul talk”…

Recently, my thoughts began to overwhelm me. I got so mad because I thought I had dealt with the thoughts concerning a major trial in my life. Frustrated and grumpy because the pain of this trial is still touching my heart, I came before the Lord. I feel as if I’ve been walking around holding my breathe and I needed to exhale and grieve the loss the trial presented to me.

Lord, I’m trying so hard to honor you, why does this trial still hurt me so much?

I cried out that prayer before the Lord under the canopy of heaven. My Father, in His gracious manner held my heart as I wept through the pain. Then He spoke two words to me…

My glory!!

I may never know why the Lord gave me this trial, but I do know that Jesus is working out His glory through it. Beloved, with that knowledge, I can get through anything!!

This is where soul talk comes into the picture…

During the times where all I want to do is curl up in a ball and never see the light of day because my soul hurts, I must talk to myself! *Pause* (I promise I’m not crazy…stay with me, I’ll explain!)

Soul Talk Defined – Speaking truth into my soul!!

Sometimes, I must make the hard decision to get up out of my sorrow, put on my big girl panties and talk some sense into myself!

“Soul, get a hold of yourself!”

After I dry my tears, I remind myself of who the Lord is and what He has done for me. This usually includes speaking His attributes out loud.

The Lord is…

  • Gracious
  • Steadfast in love
  • Good
  • Merciful
  • Holding my heart
  • Watching over me
  • Kind
  • Strong
  • Caring
  • Keeping all my tears in a bottle
  • Working all things out for my good and His glory
  • Majestic
  • Beautiful
  • Indescribable
  • Glorious

I also read scripture (typically the Psalms) to myself. I’ve sat in my room reminding myself of who the Lord is for hours on end. It doesn’t come naturally for me when I get caught up in sorrow, but the Lord has given me His word to comfort me. Beloved, I encourage you to try soul talk. Remind yourself of how absolutely incredible your God is!!!

3 thoughts on “Soul Talk…

  1. Chels, I know you are feeling all the fears of the unknown and the wants of your future. I also feel that God has amazing plans for you. Think of the story of how your mom and YOU witnessed for God before you could even speak….Praying for you….as you grow and experience all that God has for you.

  2. Love this! Such godly wisdom in this – it is exactly what we need to do!! It is incredible that at your age you make that hard decision to remind yourself who the Lord is – and for hours!! There are few that seek the Lord with all their heart like you – God knows that and will bless you and use you to glorify His name. You already have through this post. Blessings, Lynn Kish

  3. Thank you so much Mrs. Kish!! I really appreciate your kind words, they mean a lot!!! Angie, thanks for your encouragement!!! :)

Leave a Reply

