Love and other things…future mate (Part 2)

When writing on the topic of future mates, I would like to add a very important clarification, before I continue on my list. To make that clarification, I need to be vulnerable with you. In high school, I always assumed that I would go to college, meet someone my sophomore or junior year, date for a couple of years, and get married shortly after graduation. That was my personal plan. But life isn’t working out how I expected it too, I am still happily single, I will graduate college in a year, and have no set in stone plan for after I graduate. But you want to know something…that is completely okay! I had a very bad attitude for a while because i thought that the Lord owed me because I’ve been faithfully following Him, so He should give me what I want right?? Wrong!! Beloved, I want to tell you that if the Lord had given me half the things I have asked for, I would be one spoiled brat! Please trust Him! Trust that He hasn’t forgotten about you, He knows your desires and He plans to fulfill them…just not in the timing you had planned. Keep that in mind as your continue reading!

 

 

3. Be the right person

I have touched on this point before in my writing, but I want to hit on it again. Instead of constantly keeping your eyes peeled for the “right” person, focus all that extra time and energy on becoming someone worthy of marriage and an incredible spouse!

Read good books!

Take a class!

Get wisdom from older couples!

Stay in shape!

Mentor a younger guy/girl!

Strengthen your relationship with your parents…siblings…friends…etc

Budget your money!

 

There is a wealth of things you can be doing right now to prepare yourself so that one day, when you meet a person who you could see yourself getting married to, you won’t have to spend years working on yourself, you’ll be able to present yourself as a strong, well-rounded individual.

 

4. Control your emotions!

Kind of going off the last point, before you can expect to have a good relationship and one day, a good marriage, you need to learn how to be emotionally stable! This might sound like a joke coming from my mouth, because I’ve gone through some stuff in my days (that’s a whole other story) and I am currently learning how to be an emotionally consistent and independent person. Beloved, you can’t expect someone to always take care of your feelings, that’s not what other people are there for. Learn now how to take your emotions straight to the Lord! It’s okay not to be okay, but you can’t live your life in a constant state of emotional turmoil. Eventually you’re going to have to deal with emotions and control them.

You control your emotions, your emotions don’t control you!

 

 

Leave a Reply

