Love and other things…insecurity!

I have received a lot of positive feedback concerning my relationship series I’ve been writing. Thank you very much for your encouragement! This post is going to be a bit tricky to write, because I don’t want to direct it completely to females. Since I am a lady (duhh!!), it may be slightly biased, but I will do my very best to address the men too. I have 2 brothers and a dad, so I have a little help and perspective!

My topic today is relationships and insecurities. Recently I have been battling severe insecurities in my own personal life, I won’t go into all the details right now, that’s another lesson for another time. The Lord has been working on my heart and as painful as it is sometimes to realize and see my extreme shortcomings and flaws, I have a Savior who constantly whispers love into my ears and onto my heart!

I have seen an abundance of my friends and people surrounding me rush into relationships or seek a relationship desperately  because they are so insecure. They believe that another person will cover their insecurities and make them disappear. Beloved, listen up…

That is a lie!!!!

Another person will NOT ease your insecurities!

It is a romantic notion to think that we can find someone who will make us feel “complete”. Trust me, I’ve bought into this mentality before, thinking “Oh, if only I could just find the right person…then I wouldn’t feel this way.” Yet again, that is a lie. Another person can never complete you, because they are a flawed and fallen human being too! Don’t except perfectionism from another person, that is an unfair expectation.  It is hard, because if you’re single, it’s so incredibly easy to sit and day dream about Prince Charming or Cinderella and all the wonderful qualities they will have. I’ve done it many times, but I think it is unhealthy to think about it too much, because you’re setting yourself up for failure. (Unfair expectations!)

As easy as it is to expect another person to step into our lives and combat our insecurities, the majority of the time, the exact opposite is true. A lot of times, relationships will bring out and actually magnify your insecurities. If you allow an insecurity to stay in your life for too long without laying it before the Lord, a relationship will completely draw out insecurities. It is often unintentional, but nevertheless, it happens! Unfortunately instead of one person dealing with their own insecurities, now two people have to deal with the emotional baggage of an insecurity.

Beloved, I implore you, if you are struggling with some extreme emotions or insecurities, don’t run to a relationship to fulfill your desires or cover your insecurities.

Seek the Lord and lay your flaws and insecurities before Him. He will hold and heal your heart!!

Leave a Reply

