I am blessed!!

I am so incredibly blessed!! I know that might sound cliche to say, but it’s the honest truth. I honestly don’t pause often enough to meditate on just how blessed I am. Tonight, I had some time to myself, so I made myself a cup of tea and felt like writing. One of my  favorite things is just to curl up with a cup of coffee/tea and just pour our my heart onto paper. Tonight is one of those nights!

Recently the Lord has been teaching me about gratitude, and being thankful. I’m going to devote a lot more time to discussing that but I wanted to spend a few moments sharing some of my thoughts on blessings. But I have to be honest first, this is the kind of honesty that hurts to admit. I’m not good at all at realizing just how blessed I am. The reason is, because I think I’m entitled to things. News flash: I am in no way, shape or form deserving of ANYTHING!! Really, it’s by the Lord’s grace that I even woke up this morning, that I have had breath in my lungs all day and that I will wake up tomorrow morning. I am not guaranteed tomorrow, yet I go around living like I deserve the whole world and I’m entitled.

Oh what a gross sin that is in my life! How ugly that must look to my King in heaven. He is the one who is truly deserving of everything, yet He humbled Himself so much, that He became a man, died in my place. When I truly pause and meditate on what that means, any attitude or sense of pride should instantly die. When I learn of my proper position before Christ, which is completely in His debt, I can then respond with a live seeking to please Him. Oh, that my life would be a fragrant offering to my Father, a life that realizes how utterly broken and sinful it is, yet how beautifully it has been redeemed!

You see, I’ve come to God before complaining and throwing myself a huge pity party, because life’s circumstances weren’t ideal, or how I thought they should be. I’ve shaken my fist up to heaven before begging the Lord to change my situations, because my heart has been in so much pain, and all I’ve wanted is to be relieved of that pain. Dear reader, I urge you not to follow my example. Don’t demand things of the Lord! I’ve had to greatly humble myself before Him, and repent of my awful attitude. We are given prayer, and I think it is okay to make requests, but ultimately we need to realize that above all else, God is sovereign. He knows what He is doing! His plan is so much grander and more majestic than I could ever imagine. Instead of demanding my own way, I need to praise and thank Him from the bottom of my heart!!
I can’t tell you honestly that I’ve reached a place in my life where I automatically respond to each circumstance with a thankful heart and realize how blessed I am, but by the grace of God, I’m growing. One of the definitions I found for the word “Bless” means, “to make holy; sanctify”.

Dear one, will you join me on this journey to realize just how incredibly and amazingly the Lord has blessed us?

Leave a Reply

