Other times, He calms His child…

The LORD is my rock and my fortress and my deliverer, my God, my rock, in whom I take refuge, my shield, and the horn of my salvation, my stronghold. – Psalm 18:2

Oh how my heart feels like it’s just going to spill over right now. As circumstances in my life get completely crazy with finals, end of the year, good byes, and other life situations, I have a tendency to feel so overwhelmed. I have mentioned several times that I went through a big crisis about a year ago. God taught me some huge lessons through that trial, and is continuing those lessons. Here’s what I’m currently learning. Circumstances in life do not, and should not determine my joy in the Lord. Let me repeat that, my relationship with my beloved Savior and most holy God is not based on how I’m feeling at a particular moment or the situations going on around me. To be completely honest, all I want to do right now is cry and complain and throw myself the biggest pity party. BUT, I am making the choice not to do any of those things. Instead, I’m running straight to my heavenly Father and burying all of my worries, stresses, fears, anxieties, uncertainties and tears in His arms. He alone can truly give my soul the rest and satisfaction that I need and so desperately desire. There is a song that’s been stuck in my head recently (I’m not sure what it’s called), but one of the lines from the song is, “Sometimes He calms the storms, and other times He calms His child.” This is so incredibly true. I honestly don’t know where life finds you right now, I don’t know what your circumstances look like. You could be on the mountaintop, dancing through fields of flowers, or you could be crawling through a valley of darkness, feeling like you don’t know how you’ll get through another day. Either way, I want to encourage you with this truth, God is with you! Yes, that might sound like a simple and elementary truth, but once you truly grasp the enormity of those words, that the Savior of the universe is with you, holding you through all of the circumstances of life, you simply cannot continue living in the same manner. I am a Christ-follower, and that means that I will follow Him wherever He leads, right now, He’s leading me through some trials, but I am not worried, because He is fighting for me, and He is with me. My attitude is different, my speech is different, my persona is different, the reason is because I have hope! I am not like the world; I am God’s child, and I should live like it. Especially through the difficult times, so that God may get the highest glory and praise!! One of my favorite authors and pastors is Charles Spurgeon. I would like to leave you with some of his words to chew on. May you live as one who knows that their God is holding them in His hand…

“As sure as God puts His children in the furnace, he will be in the furnace with them.”   

One thought on “Other times, He calms His child…

Leave a Reply

