The better thing

What good is our busy religion if we have lost majesty, reverence, worship–an awareness of the divine?” AW Tozer

I haven’t been feeling well recently. As a result, I’ve been forced to slow down and allow my body to rest. It has been nice to just sleep and take things easy for a little bit! I think part of the reason it’s been so nice is because I’m not used to resting. My stress level is always higher than it should be and I feel overwhelmed a lot of the time. Right now, at this point in my life, I’ve got a lot of responsibility on my plate. If I were to rattle off all of the things I have to do, it would take way to long!

Someone very close to me recently told me that they thought that I didn’t care about them anymore because I never had time to call them or spend time with them. That completely broke my heart. If I were to die tomorrow, that is definitely not how I would want to be remembered!! I told God that I felt so overwhelmed by everything I’m responsible for and felt like a juggler, and if one ball (or responsibility) dropped, then everything would just come crumbling down around me. I’ve done such a poor job of focusing on the urgent things in life (thins like papers, projects, meetings etc) instead of focusing my attention on the important things (like relationships that matter the most, people and things that will outlive me.) God has used the story of Mary and Martha to break my heart. Allow me to share…

“Now as they went on their way. Jesus entered a village. And a woman named Martha welcomed him into her house. And she had a sister called Mary, who sat at the Lord’s feet and listened to his teaching. But Martha was distracted with much serving. And she went up to him and said, “Lord, do you not care that my sister has left me to serve alone? Tell her then to help me.” But the Lord answered her. “Martha, Martha, you are anxious and troubled about many things, but one things is necessary. Mary has chosen the good portion, which will not be taken away from her.”

Luke 10:38-41.

Wow!! That is so powerful! It has broken my heart because I know exactly which character I am in the story. I am Martha. I am the one who is “distracted with much serving and is anxious and troubled about many things.” It stings my heart to write those words, but they accurately describe me. I have spent so much of my time and energy “serving” God, when in reality, I’m completely ignoring the things I should be choosing. Instead of trying to do everything under the sun, I should be spending time with my Beloved and growing to look more like Him. Then,  after I’ve been with Him, I should do what He says. He commands me to love Him and love people. Not love Him and then ignore people in pursuit of “serving” more. True serving isn’t selfish, and my service to Him has been self-centered. God is revealing my incredibly sinful heart to me. With the help of the Holy Spirit, I’m trusting Him to change my heart. I don’t want to be troubled and distracted; I want to be at peace, choosing the best things, and honoring my King.

May I become more like Mary, sitting at the feet of her beloved Savior!! May I live in a way that men can tell that I’ve been with Jesus, because I live in a state of rest and contentment in the Lord. May I radiate the love of God because I am so intimate with Him. May I always chose the better thing that will not be taken from me.

“A little longer” – Brian and Jenn Johnson

What can I do for You?
What can I bring to You?
What kind of song would you like me to sing?

‘Cause I’ll dance a dance for You
Pour out my love to You
What can I do for You beautiful king?

‘Cause I… can’t thank You enough.
I can’t thank You enough
Then I hear You sing to me

“You,  don’t have to do a thing
Just simply be with me and let those things go
‘Cause they can wait another minute.

Wait… this moment is too sweet
Would you please stay here with Me
And love on Me a little longer”

2 thoughts on “The better thing

  1. Chelsea– ha ha… you’re going to totally think I”m copying you with my next blog post…. God was speaking to be about a related topic this weekend. Love you sweetie!

    ~Arielle

  2. Hey Chelsea,
    Long time, no talk. Thanks for this I was having a really rough couple of days and some how my mom always sends me links to your blog. I feel like maybe I should start doing this, but so much of what’s going on in my life is personal and so hard, even painful at times. Still I hope that things are going well for you over there in V.A. and college life too lol, make sure Nick doesn’t go trip down the stairs or anything hahaha. Yea I know you would tell me that you’re more likely to do that then Nick, but it could still happen you know I love you both, be safe and take care Big Sis.

Leave a Reply

