Romanced…

My soul is overwhelmed and delighted beyond belief. I am being romanced and wooed into a love relationship that is so lovely, so wonderful, so vastly incredible that no description will do it justice.  The One who painted the skies, hand crafted the moon and the stars, and knit me together before the foundations of the world, adores me.

Behold, I have engraved you on the palms of my hands

Oh what a glorious thought! God has taken the time to engrave me on His hands, and He doesn’t just have my name engraved on His hands. No, no, that would be wonderful enough, but He has all of me, my very nature and the core of my being permanently written upon the palms of His hands. His love draws me into Himself, and He delights in me. He loves me when I am unlovable, He calls me beautiful when the world turns their head away. G.K. Chesterton once said, “Let your religion be less of a theory and more of a love affair.” Oh how I am totally enraptured in this love story with my Beloved. I am constantly fighting to keep myself pure and untainted from the world so that my Lover will find ultimate delight in His bride. That when He whispers my name, I am able to present myself whole to Him, not allowing sin to stain me.  My Beloved Savior takes my breath away, permeates my soul with Himself, delights me with His presence and completely and utterly satisfies my deepest needs and longings. My heart beats faster when I’m near Him, and I find myself longing for more and more of Him. I cannot bear to be separated from Him, and rush into His presence when I am away.

“Romance is the deepest thing in life, romance is deeper even than reality.” –G.K. Chesterton

God is the romancer of my soul. He pursues me with great fervor. Listen intently to the words of passion He whispers in my ear.

Therefore, behold, I will allure her, and bring her into the wilderness, and speak tenderly to her. And in that day, declares the LORD, you will call me “My Husband”, and no longer you call me “My Baal.” And I will betroth you to me forever. I will betroth you to me in righteousness and in justice, in steadfast love and in mercy. I will betroth you to me in faithfulness. And you shall know the LORD.

The great thing about the love of my Beloved is, it is a love that I will never understand, but a love that I cannot possibly imagine living without. Yet, His longing for my affection is deep and constant. I find rest in His arms and take sheer delight in Him. Oh how I could go on forever speaking the name of my Beloved, but the thing that enthralls me the most is the fact that He loves and adores me so much, that He was willing send His perfect son to leave His throne in heaven, and come down into this marred and sinful world, and die in my place, for the sins that I committed, and that I should have died for. He placed Himself on a cross and allowed life to be taken from Him for me. Three days later, when Christ was victorious over death and sin forever, the greatest celebration of history commenced. That kind of love is absolutely stunning and causes me to give God my heart freely and completely. I love Him, and His name shall be the song of my lips until my dying breath, and then I shall spend all of eternity praising my Beloved.

O Living Flame of Love…How Gently and how lovingly Thou wakest in my bosom, Where alone thou secretly dwellest; And in Thy sweet breathing Full of grace and glory, How tenderly Thou fillest me with Thy love.

2 thoughts on “Romanced…

  1. Wow, Chelsea I love your boldness. Keep writing about our Lord because he says in Matt. 10:33-34 32(O) So everyone who acknowledges me before men, I also will acknowledge before my Father who is in heaven, 33but(P) whoever denies me before men,(Q) I also will deny before my Father who is in heaven. I’m looking forward to reading more post. See you around campus.

    -Barnaby Alkire

Leave a Reply

