Trust…

Trust. A very simple word to write, but an incredibly hard word to actually put into practice. As I write these words, I am currently in the middle of a  situation where my trust in God is truly being tested. I have the opportunity to stand up and declare with all of my heart, “Yes Father, I will trust you no matter what You choose to place in my path.”  I have chosen to write on this topic because I am learning what genuine trust and reliance means. I am by no means perfect in trusting my God for every need that I have, but I am in the process of allowing God to teach me how to truly trust Him.

As I’ve alluded to, I am going through a situation where I literally couldn’t have control, even if I wanted to control the circumstance. I am the type of person that enjoys knowing what’s going to happen, and likes to be able to plan and be in control things, so when this situation arose, and I was completely helpless, honestly, I was a bit shocked. Up until that point, I said that I trusted God with everything, but didn’t really have to back up my words with my actions, because my life to that point was organized in such a way that I didn’t have to trust God. That is very hard to admit, but it is the cold, hard truth.  My life was shaken quite a bit when an event happened, and I found out some things and couldn’t control it. I had some serious soul-searching to do because, probably for the first time in my life, I had to completely and totally rely 100% on God, and wait for Him to act and come through for me. Because my situation is out of my hands, I have the choice to throw in the towel, and say to God, “Nope, I’m not going to trust You. This is too hard and hurts me too much. I can’t see the end of this and honestly, don’t know why this is happening.” Or, I can choose to have a drastically different response. Let me make one thing clear, trust is a CHOICE. No one wakes up one morning and automatically trusts in God without making the conscious decision to trust Him. It is not in our human nature to naturally trust in Him. But, there is hope! If we have been saved by Christ’s blood, we have the Holy Spirit living in us, and He will help us to trust God.

I have decided that I am going to place my full trust in my Savior, no matter what the cost. Believe me, that has not been an easy place for me to come to, because I am stubborn, and God has had to break my heart in order for me to come to a place where I will declare with my whole being that my trust is in Him, and in Him alone.

The word trust is such a beautiful word. It literally means, “A firm reliance on the integrity, strength and ability of a person.” Beloved reader, I beg of you to place your reliance fully upon our great God. I can assure you with everything in me that God will never leave or forsake you.

HE IS WORTHY OF YOUR TRUST!!


When it feels like your world is caving in and you can’t seem to get your head above water, run with fervor into the arms of our Father and tell Him that you trust him.

Those who know your name put their trust in you, for you, O LORD have not forsaken those who seek you. –Psalm 9:10

God promises not to abandon us. We can cling to this promise. Dear one, if you know His name today, trust Him. As Psalm 31:14 says, “I trust in you, O LORD, I say, You are my God.” Make that your prayer to our Father today.  It is not always an easy thing to trust in God, but dear reader, He will give you Himself as you walk through dark and trying times. He will not drop you into a situation and expect you to handle it on your own. He will extend His hand, and hold your heart as you trust in Him. I encourage you today to run straight to Him, and declare with everything you have that you trust our Holy God.

I will trust Him. Whatever, wherever I am, I can never be thrown away. If I am in sickness, my sickness may serve Him; in perplexity, my perplexity may serve Him; if I am in sorrow, my sorrow may serve Him. My sickness, or perplexity, or sorrow may be necessary causes of some great end, which is quite beyond us. He does nothing in vain.  – John Henry Newman

2 thoughts on “Trust…

  1. Chels I can identify, we seem to keep going through similar things at similar times even though our circumstances are different. It’s been hard but reading this was so encouraging to me! I feel like God definitely brought me to read this today. I’m praying for you everyday and I love you :)

Leave a Reply

