One glorious afternoon…

It’s been forever since I’ve written. To be completely honest, that’s not the whole truth, I’ve written a ton over the past few months, and really poured myself into my writing. But God hasn’t allowed me to share any of it with the world just yet. I know His timing is perfect, and one day, hopefully I will share with the world, the depth of my writings over the past few months and the new heights that my relationship with God has taken on. As for now, I desire to share something different with you

Today is the type of day that I want to savor and hold onto forever. Time feels like it has almost ceased to be for the moment. Today has been absolutely wonderful. I woke up this morning to glorious sunshine streaming through my windows. I got out of bed and slipped to my knees, and spent the beginning moments of my day with my Savior. It’s the most wonderful thing to begin my day face down in reverence, surrendering my day to God. A verse from Song of Solomon came to mind as I went about getting ready for my day.

My beloved speaks, and says to me; “Arise, my love, my beautiful one, and come away.”

~ Song of Solomon 2:10

I felt like God was calling me to Himself as I meditated on those words. The sunshine, the birds singing, and those beautiful words all seemed like an invitation into the presence of my Creator. After I had gotten ready for my day, I had coffee with my Daddy. It was so special because I know that my father wanted and desired to spend time with me. We got our cup of coffee and sat down and talked for a while. Finally, he had to go back to work, so we went our separate ways.

All week while I’ve been home on break, I’ve been wanting to go spend an afternoon alone with just me and God. The weather was perfect outside today and the sun is shining its heart out, so I got in the car and drove to a near by park. As I paid at the gate, I asked the old man where a quiet place was. He kindly directed me towards a pond. Then he asked if I was going to meditate, I replied that I had my Bible and was going to spend the afternoon with God. His wrinkled face broke into a huge smile and he said “Good for you.”

As I wrote this blog, I was sitting three feet from the edge of the water, listening to a symphony of Geese. My hair was down and blowing in the wind, and I felt so free. I almost felt like one of the birds I saw flying over head. It was so lovely. When I went off this afternoon, I knew that I wanted to spend time with God, so I brought along my Bible. But I also knew that I wanted to write. Today is one of those days where I just had to write. The main character from Chariots of Fire said, “When I run, I feel God’s pleasure.” I kinda feel the same way, when I write, I can feel God’s pleasure and presence. I feel as if God is compelling me to write.

I sat outside for two hours before I began writing. My time was passed by sitting and soaking in God’s beauty. My arms were bathed in sunshine, and my ears were met with sounds of ducks quacking, birds singing, and my own voice as I sung praises to my Lord. I read Psalms and really quieted my soul before God. It was such an amazing time. I read a quote earlier, and I dwelt on it all day long.

“We long for more, and God’s promise is that there is more awaiting us. More to delight us than we will ever exhaust.

~C.S. Lewis

That is so incredibly beautiful because what God promises is Himself. We will find our delight in Him. And He is more than ready to give us as much of Himself as we want. His love for me is overflowing, never ending, powerful, great, deep, relentless, and ultimately indescribable! I love this truth. I could write a book, just on this one subject, but I think why it means so much to me is because I’ve found it to be so true. Even in the times recently where I haven’t been “happy.” God has given of Himself, and that to me is even better and more glorious than any “happy-go-lucky” fleeting feeling. This afternoon, I found myself weeping over some things, but I also found my heart leaping and soaring with God. That time will be one that I treasure for a long time. I was expressing my extreme pleasure for this beautiful weather earlier and I heart myself say that I wish I could live somewhere where it was sunny and warm all the time. As soon as I said that, I realized that it wasn’t true. The reason I appreciate and love days like this so much is because I do have to go through a season of cold and rain. I looked up the verse from Song of Solomon that God placed on my heart this morning. The rest is so beautiful because it expresses exactly what I was just talking about.

“My beloved speaks and says to me; “Arise, my love, my beautiful one, and come away, for behold, the winter is past; the rain is over and gone. The flowers appear on the earth, the time of singing has come.”

Song of Solomon 2:10-12

I love that, because it feels like God’s love poem penned just for me. I ended my afternoon by listening to the song “How great is our God” by Chris Tomlin. Then, as I was walking to my car, I picked a flower and put it in my hair as a beautiful reminder of my afternoon with God.

Name above all names

Worthy of all praise

And my heart will sing,

How great is our God

2 thoughts on “One glorious afternoon…

  1. You inspire me, my dear. There’s been a lot of rain lately in your life- and it delights me to see how you are enjoying this sunny day.

    Your friend,
    Arielle

    P.S. I love you

Leave a Reply

